Gov. Kim Reynolds announces the approval of twenty-eight (28) additional counties for Public Assistance under the previously approved Major Disaster Declaration, FEMA DR-4784-IA, for Iowa counties where significant damage was sustained from severe storms and widespread flooding that occurred between May 20, 2024 - May 31, 2024.

In addition to Adair County the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Public Assistance Program has been activated for the following counties:  Adams, Buena Vista, Butler, Calhoun, Cedar, Cherokee, Clay, Dallas, Franklin, Hamilton, Hancock, Harrison, Humboldt, Jasper, Iowa, Jackson, Kossuth, Marshall, Mitchell, Montgomery, Muscatine, Polk, Pottawattamie, Poweshiek, Shelby, Story, Tama and Wright.

All twenty-nine (29) counties are approved for Public Assistance for all categories of emergency and permanent work. 

Iowa was approved for another Presidential Disaster Declaration on June 24, 2024 in response to flooding in northwest Iowa. Information on the second Presidential Disaster Declaration can be found here