CONTACT: or (515) 725-3231


Governor Reynolds requests Presidential Disaster Declaration for July flooding and severe weather


​DES MOINES - Gov. Kim Reynolds today signed a letter to be delivered to President Trump requesting a Presidential Disaster Declaration for seven Iowa counties where significant damage was sustained from severe storms and flooding from July 19-23, 2017.


​The counties included in this request are: Allamakee, Bremer, Buchanan, Chickasaw, Clayton, Fayette and Mitchell.

The governor requested funding under the Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA) Public Assistance Program, which is used to rebuild damaged infrastructure that may include roads, bridges, culverts and other public facilities, or to cover costs of emergency work during, and debris removal after, the storms. Following a joint federal, state, and local preliminary damage assessment of the seven counties it was estimated the severe weather caused nearly $7 million worth of damage that could be eligible under the Public Assistance Program.


The governor also requested funding to conduct hazard mitigation activities for the entire state. The letter can be read in its entirety here.​

The Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management leads, coordinates and supports homeland security and emergency management functions in order to establish sustainable communities and ensure economic opportunities for Iowa and its citizens.