CONTACT: or (515) 725-3231


Gov. Reynolds issues disaster proclamation for four counties


DES MOINES – Gov. Kim Reynolds issued a disaster proclamation Saturday for Bremer, Buchanan, Clinton and Johnson counties in response to severe storms, heavy rains and flash flooding on July 21-22.


The governor’s proclamation allows state resources to be utilized to respond to and recover from the effects of this severe weather.


The proclamation also activates the Iowa Individual Assistance Program for qualifying residents of the four counties.


The Iowa Individual Assistance Program provides grants of up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level or a maximum annual income of $40,320 for a family of three. Grants are available for car or home repairs, clothing or food replacement and temporary housing expenses. Original receipts are required for those seeking reimbursement for actual expenses related to storm.


The grant application and instructions are available on the Iowa Department of Human Services website. Applicants have 45 days from the date of the proclamation (Sept. 6, 2017) to submit a claim.


Gov. Reynolds issued a disaster proclamation on July 20 for four counties that were impacted by this same weather event which began on July 19. Previously declared counties were Allamakee, Clayton, Fayette and Winneshiek.

The Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management leads, coordinates and supports homeland security and emergency management functions in order to establish sustainable communities and ensure economic opportunities for Iowa and its citizens.