CONTACT: Governor's office (515) 281-5211 OR or (515) 725-3231


President Obama issues Disaster Declaration for 19 Iowa counties

Gov. Branstad issues disaster proclamation for four counties


DES MOINES –Governor Terry E. Branstad has received word that President Obama approved his request for a Presidential Disaster Declaration for 19 counties impacted by severe weather in June.


The counties included in the declaration are: Allamakee, Appanoose, Butler, Clayton, Dallas, Davis, Des Moines, Guthrie, Howard, Jefferson, Lee, Lucas, Marion, Mitchell, Monroe, Warren, Wayne, Winneshiek and Wright.

The governor sent the request for a declaration on July 22 in response to significant damage that was caused by damaging winds, tornadoes, heavy rains, hail and thunderstorms from June 20-25, 2015. This is Iowa’s first Presidential Disaster Declaration in 2015.


The declaration by the President will provide federal funding to the declared counties under the Public Assistance Program. A Presidential Major Disaster Declaration for Public Assistance puts into motion long-term federal recovery programs, some of which are matched by state programs, and designed to help public entities and select non-profits. Public Assistance funds may be used for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities and may include debris removal, emergency protective measures, repair of damaged public property, loans needed by communities for essential government functions and grants for public schools.


The Governor also received notification that the Presidential Disaster Declaration includes funding to conduct hazard mitigation activities for the entire state. With this funding, Iowa will be able to minimize the impact of future disasters by taking steps now to strengthen existing infrastructure.


This Presidential Disaster Declaration is the 22nd Presidential Disaster Declaration Iowa has received since March 2007.


New Governor's Disaster Proclamation

In addition, today Gov. Branstad issued a proclamation of disaster emergency for Guthrie, Marion, Union and Warren counties. This is in response to the ongoing flooding and severe weather beginning July 26, 2015.

The governor’s proclamation allows State resources to be utilized to respond to and recover from the effects of these storms. Today’s proclamation also activates the Iowa Individual Assistance Program for all four counties.


The Iowa Individual Assistance Program provides grants of up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level, or a maximum annual income of $40,180, for a family of three. Grants are available for home or car repairs, replacement of clothing or food, and for the expense of temporary housing. Original receipts are required for those seeking reimbursement for actual expenses related to storm recovery. The grant application and instructions are available on the Iowa Department of Human Services website. Potential applicants have 45 days from the date of the proclamation to submit a claim.


The Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management leads, coordinates and supports homeland security and emergency management functions in order to establish sustainable communities and ensure economic opportunities for Iowa and its citizens.


# # #