CONTACT: or (515) 725-3231


Governor Branstad activates Individual Assistance program for five counties

DES MOINES – Gov. Terry E. Branstad has issued a proclamation of disaster emergency and activated the Iowa Individual Assistance Program for Cass, Harrison, Montgomery, and Ringgold counties in response to recent storms. Additionally, Pottawattamie County, which was already declared to be under a disaster emergency on Tuesday, June 3, 2014, will be opened to Individual Assistance.

The Iowa Individual Assistance Program provides grants of up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level, or a maximum annual income of $39,580, for a family of three. Grants are available for home or car repairs, replacement of clothing or food, and for the expense of temporary housing. Original receipts are required for those seeking reimbursement for actual expenses related to storm recovery. The grant application and instructions are available at the “Disaster Assistance” link on the Iowa Department of Human Services website.

The Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management leads, coordinates and supports homeland security and emergency management functions in order to establish sustainable communities and ensure economic opportunities for Iowa and its citizens.